Tags

, , , , ,

“…and as you will know if you have done the research assigned, it is believed that magic existed on Ailanthea before the gods imbued both the land and people with their power causing magic…”

It is all that Ochriese can do to either not scream or fall asleep. She considers letting her forehead thunk against the white Birchwood table around which she and the other novi sit.

“Am I boring you Ochriese?” snaps Lumina.

The other girls lean away from Ochriese as if they might catch Lumina’s wrath through sheer proximity.

“Of course not, Lumina. I am, however, suffering from an acute bout of pedanticitis and as such posit the notion that it might be better if I were excused so not to infect either you or my fellow novi with this contagion,” says Ochriese finishing with a small groan.

“Pedantic. I see. Do you know the cure for this ailment that befalls you?”

“I have heard that the chemicals released in the brain when new information is introduced keeps the worst symptoms at bay.”

“As I was saying, when the gods imbued the land and people, magic faded away replaced by the stronger power, vere. But what do we know about energy in the universe?”

“That it never really goes away, it can be reformed or changed but it still exists,” auto-replies Ochriese.

“If that is so, then why could one not wield both magic and vere?”

“Because magic is gone,” says one of the girls.

“What would be the point?” asks another.

“The point would be that a person could double, at least double, the ways to channel their vere, maybe even channel a different kind of vere,” says Ochriese, eyes lighting up.

“Bring me a demonstration of the duel use of magic and vere for the next lesson.”

Ochriese hurries to gather her things.

“Feeling better Ochriese?”

“Much Lumina. I believe myself cured.”

“Glad to hear it,” says Lumina, smiling with her voice.

***

Inspired by Trifecta’s word of the week (NOT AN EASY ONE BTW):

: of, relating to, or being a pedant(see pedant)

: narrowly, stodgily, and often ostentatiously learned
I am honored to be in the winning circle this week especially with such talented group of writers to choose from. Thank you.
